Medicine: For Outstanding Service

People in public health and research work generally do a plodding, worthwhile, unspectacular job that the public never hears about. To give deserved credit to outstanding workers in these fields, the American Public Health Association, since 1946, has presented the annual Lasker Awards ($500 to $2,500 in cash, plus a silver or gold statuette of the Winged Victory). This year's winners, announced this week:

¶Dr. Haven Emerson, treasurer of the National Health Council, past president of the A.P.H.A.

¶Miss Marion Sheahan, R.N. (the first nonphysician to win a Lasker Award), executive director of...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!