Education: Pulitzer Prizes

Designated last week were this year's winners of Pulitzer Prizes for literary merit:

Playwrighting, Eugene O'Neill, now thrice a Pulitzer Prize winner, for his Strange Interlude (TIME, Feb. 13).

Poetry, Edwin Arlington Robinson, also thrice a winner, for his Tristram (TIME, May 23, 1927).

Cartooning, Nelson Harding of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle, twice a winner, for his sketch of Colonel Lindbergh's plane casting a cruciform shadow over Mexico, with the title, "May his shadow never grow less."

Novel, Thornton Niven Wilder, for his Bridge of San Luis Rey (TIME, Dec. 5).

History, Vernon Louis Parrington, for his Main Currents in American Thought.

Biography, Charles Edward Russell, for...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!