Science: Nobel Prizes

The Swedish Academy of Sciences last week agreed that the 1927 Nobel Prize for Physics be divided between Professor Arthur Holly Compton of the University of Chicago and Professor Charles Thomson Rees Wilson of Cambridge University. Both men studied at Cambridge University under Sir Joseph John Thomson, who received the 1906 Nobel Prize for Physics,

Physicist Compton. The freshwater College of Wooster, Ohio, gave Professor Compton his early training in science; his father, Professor Elias Compton (philosophy) at Wooster, gave him the spirit; and his older (by five years less four days) brother,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!