Books: Publishers' Oscar

Publishers' Weekly's new Carey-Thomas Award* for good publishing — "the creative idea, cooperation with the writer, careful production and imagination and successful marketing" — was awarded for the first time last fortnight. It went to Manhattan publishers Farrar & Rinehart for their Rivers of America Series, of which last year's seven volumes (The Chicago by Harry Hansen; The St. Lawrence by Henry Beston; The Lower Mississippi by Hodding Carter ; The Allegheny by Frederick Way Jr. ; The Sangamon by Edgar Lee Masters; The Kentucky by T. D. Clark; The Wisconsin by August Derleth) were found by Judges Carl Carmer,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!