Sport: Epilogue

Last week while Coach Jim Crowley of Fordham exhibited a troupe of postgraduate U. S. college football players to 25,000 Frenchmen* in the first stand of a two-week barnstorming tour, the stars of the U. S. Football Show of 1938 were taking their bows before the curtain.

Most applause was for little Davey O'Brien, 150-lb. quarterback of undefeated Texas Christian, who was handed the Heisman Trophy, annual award for the No. 1 player of the year. The award for No. 1 coach of the year went to Bill Kern of Carnegie Tech, after 200 rival...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!