Education: Kudos (Cont'd) Jul. 5, 1937

The will of Empire Builder Cecil Rhodes (1853-1902) generously provided two Oxford scholarships every three years for boys from every U. S. State.* In 1902, when the will was executed, there were 45 States. Scholarships were added for Oklahoma (1907), Arizona and New Mexico (1912). In 1929, Rhodes Scholar Frank Aydelotte, president of Swarthmore College and U. S. executor of the Rhodes Trust, knocked on the door of Parliament and had the Trust amended to establish eight districts of six States with twelve scholarships apiece, an arrangement which has since eliminated many...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!