Alban Berg: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (Louis Krasner with the Cleveland Orchestra conducted by Artur Rodzinski; Columbia; six sides). Much of the music of Viennese Composer Berg, who died in 1935 (a disciple of Atonalist Arnold Schonberg), sounds like tortured, caterwauling doubletalk. But in this concerto, his atonalism is for once eloquent and heartfelt; it is Composer Berg's elegy on the death of his friend Manon Gropius, daughter of famed Architect Walter Gropius. The Clevelanders and Modernist Krasner give a stirring performance.

American Works for Solo Wind Instruments and String Orchestra...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!