The Press: Pulitzer Prizes

Nominated by the advisory board of Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism and formally awarded by President Nicholas Murray Butler in behalf of the University's trustees, the annual Pulitzer Prizes this week were awarded as follows:

Novel. To John Phillips Marquand, for The Late George Apley, $1,000.

Play. To Novelist Thornton Niven Wilder for Our Town (TIME, Feb. 14), his second Pulitzer Prize (first awarded for The Bridge of San Luis Rey in 1928), $1,000.

History. To Paul Herman Buck, for The Road to Reunion, 1865-1900, $1,000.

Biography. The award for distinguished U. S. biography...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!