Books: Slippery Pole

A GREAT LORD — Paul Frischauer — Random House ($2.50).

Except for minor disguises, says Austrian Author Frischauer, A Great Lord tells the true story of a Polish aristocrat in Napoleonic times. In theme, it is almost a first-class historical novel in the tradition of Tolstoy or Stendhal. With twice his imagination and half his unconscious Polish bias, Author Frischauer might have lived up to this tradition, instead of merely recalling it to his book's detriment. But by comparison with most recent historical romances, A Great Lord is a solidly written, serious work.

Redheaded,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!