Animals: Paradise Lost

Seventeen African animals, three birds and a plant were last fortnight put beyond reach of Man, as the articles of the International Convention for the Protection of the Fauna and Flora of Africa went into effect. Signed in 1933 by nine governments, still awaiting ratification by four (France, Portugal, Italy and Spain), the Convention was wangled by sporting Britain. Britain's African territories, colonies and protectorates promptly ratified it, as did Belgium. Thus a new fauna and flora safety zone was created from Egypt to the Cape, along Africa's "all-British backbone," in...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!