TAXATION: Good-by to California

On Jan. 1 Californians will owe their State the first tax bills under their new income tax law passed last June. As passed its schedule ranged from 1% to 15% which meant that any citizen with an income of $1,000,000 a year would have to pay the State $140,575. The law also presumed that six months residence within the State was tantamount to citizenship. By last week it was time for anyone who contemplated howling about this levy to get it off his chest. One who did so was Publisher William Randolph...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!