THE CONGRESS: Fourth Branch

In order to form a more perfect Union, establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general welfare and secure the blessings of liberty, George Washington and 54 other aristocrats planned a government for the U. S. consisting of three branches: legislative, executive and judicial. It did not occur to them to create a fourth branch—inquisitorial. In the course of nearly 150 years politicians have learned a lot, and one thing they have learned is that there is nothing more effective politically than a good hot investigation.

Last week,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!