Aeronautics: Bemedaled Pioneer

Of aviation trophies, three are famed. One is the Harmon Trophy, award of which fortnight ago made Wiley Post No. 1 airman of the year. Another is the Collier Trophy which annually rewards outstanding development in U. S. aeronautics. The third, and in some respects the most significant, is the Daniel Guggenheim Gold Medal which last week went to Board Chairman William Edward Boeing of potent United Aircraft & Transport Corp. First awarded in 1929 to Orville Wright, the Guggenheim Medal has gone each year to outstanding scientists in advanced aeronautical engineering. No...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!