RUSSIA: Aggression Defined

At the Soviet Embassy in London last week seven states which border Russia signed a unique pact against aggression. Years ago nearly all nations signed the Briand-Kellogg Pact "renouncing war as an instrument of national policy"—but that defines nothing, least of all aggression, the primary act of war. For the first time in history aggression was defined in a binding treaty last week when Russia signed the pact with Poland, Rumania, Turkey, Persia, Afghanistan, Estonia and Latvia.

"There shall be recognized as an aggressor," declared this epochal pact, "that State which shall be...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!