Science: Coffin Medal

When, seven years ago, the late great Charles Albert Coffin† resigned the chairmanship of General Electric Co. (which he founded by merger, 1892) to Owen D. Young, his practical associates established in his honor the Charles A. Coffin Medal. It goes each year to a railway company which during the year has made a distinguished contribution to the development of electric railway transportation for the convenience of the public and the benefit of the electrical industry. Last week the recipient was the Chicago, South Shore & South Bend Railroad. Electric railway men consider...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!