Last week a royal decree of spectacled Dictator-King Alexander changed the name of his country from The Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes, to The Kingdom of Jugoslavia. More vital to most Jugoslavians was another decree issued by King Alexander almost simultaneously. It looked forward to an imminent end of the royal dictatorship established on Christmas Day, 1928 (TIME, Jan. 14) and a return to parliamentary government. It altered the entire map of Jugoslavia by dividing the country into nine Banats or states, each Banat governed by a Banus appointed by...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!