Education: Patriots

Appointed last week by President Roosevelt to the U. S. Naval Academy's Board of Visitors for 1934-35 were Presidents Rufus Bernhard von Kleinsmid of Southern California; Kenneth Charles Morton Sills of Bowdoin; Marion Luther Brittain of Georgia Technology; Charles Russ Richards of Lehigh; Ralph Earle of Worcester Polytechnic; William Coleman Nevils of Georgetown and Dean Harry Ellsworth Clifford of Harvard Engineering School.

Once a year the Board visits the Academy, inspects its educational machinery, advises its faculty, issues a report. A patriot is each educator. Not for him are battleship junkets, dress parades,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!