Books: Monkey Business

APPIUS & VIRGINIA—G. E. Trevelyan—Putnam ($2).

Readers who liked John Collier's His Monkey Wife, David Garnett's Lady into Fox, or Edgar Allan Poe's The Murders in the Rue Morgue might each find something to his liking in Authoress Trevelyan's Appius & Virginia. Those who have watched babies in the nursery or monkeys in the zoo with mixed but fascinated feelings may also find it reminiscent.

Virginia, English spinster and university graduate, had a great idea. She would adopt a newborn orangutan, bring him up like a human child, make him gradually over into...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!