At Baltimore last week Governor Roosevelt declared: "After March 4, 1929 the Republican party was in complete control of all branches of the Federal Government—the Executive, the Senate and the House of Representatives—and I might add for good measure, the Supreme Court as well."

On March 4, 1929 the Supreme Court was composed of six Republicans (Taft, Holmes, Van Devanter, Sutherland, Sanford, Stone) and three Democrats (McReynolds, Brandeis, Butler).* At utterance of the word "control" in connection with the exalted, non-partisan Supreme Court, Republican lawyers throughout the land raised a...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!