National Affairs: 14th Ratification

Pennsylvania, joining New York. Mississippi, Arkansas. Virginia, New Jersey, Kentucky, Michigan, South Carolina, Maine, Rhode Island, Louisiana, Illinois and West Virginia, last week became the 14th State to ratify the proposed 20th Amendment to the Constitution. This amendment would eliminate the "lame duck" session of Congress, change the Presidential inaugural from March 4 to Jan. 20. That 22 more States will complete ratification before 1937 is generally expected. Thus the President inaugurated next March will have 43 days clipped from the end of his four-year term.

Even in Washington Jan. 20 is an...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!