Sport: Who Won Apr. 21, 1930

¶ The Optimists, an indoor polo team composed of Winston Guest, Michael Phipps, Lieut. Morton Jones: the Class A Championship of the U. S., keeping their plays a pony's length ahead of the Yale team of Cokey Rathborne, Raymond Guest, Stewart Iglehart.

¶ The University of Washington crew: its annual race with California, by a terrific sprint in the last 100 feet, in the rough water of Lake Washington, Seattle.

¶ Eugene Homans, who tied Bobby Jones for the qualifying medal in the last amateur championship: the North & South...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!