National Affairs: Mess

The Connecticut constitution requires a governor to sign all legislation within three days of the adjournment of a legislature. In the last ten years, Connecticut governors have approved bills leisurely, long after the three-day period. Last week the Connecticut supreme court of errors threw the state's legal machinery into serious confusion by invalidating, through a test case, 1,493 laws, large and small, which governors had thus signed unconstitutionally. Jeopardized were the gasoline tax, city charters, banking laws, the amusement tax, public appointments, salaries. One act disqualified was the act increasing the salaries...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!