Science: Geographers

Seven scientists will receive each a medal from the hands of Isaiah Bowman, Director of the American Geographical Society:

Harvey C. Hayes, of the Navy Research Department, for a new ocean-floor measuring instrument, a Cullum medal.

Pedro C. Sanchez, for measurements and surveys of Mexico, a Cullum medal.

Lucien Gallois, of the University of Paris, for work in the history of geography, a Cullum medal.

Luis Riso Patron, of the Oficina de Limites of Chile, for a survey of the Andes, a David Livingstone medal.

Erich von...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!