Chemist Congress

The 67th annual meeting of the American Chemical Society convened in Washington under the Presidency of Dr. Leo Hendrik Baekeland, inventor of bakelite. R. S. McBride, President of the Washington section, welcomed the convention, and it was entertained by cinemas, teas, receptions, dances, sight-seeings, excursions to Government laboratories, to Mount Vernon, to Edgewood Arsenal. President Coolidge received the chemists.

The three general addresses were made by 1) Robert A. Millikan, Professor of Physics, California Institute of Technology, and Nobel prizewinner for 1923, on The Atom...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!