SWEDEN: Nobel Prizes Presented

In the presence of King Gustavus, Cabinet ministers' and foreign diplomats, the formal presentation of the Nobel Prize awards* for 1923 was made in Stockholm.

William Butler Yeats, winner of the Literature Prize (TIME, Nov. 26), and Professor Friedrich Pregl of Austria, winner of the Chemistry Prize (TIME, Dec. 17), received their awards in person. Robert W. Bliss, U. S. Minister to Sweden, received the Physics Prize on behalf of Professor R. Andrews Millikan (TIME, Nov. 26) ; Sir Colville A. de R. Barclay, British Minister to Sweden, represented Doctors F. G....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!