The Mandates Commission of the League of Nations received the reports of the mandatory Powers.

Mandated territories granted England include: Tanganyika Territory (formerly part of German East Africa), Mesopotamia and Palestine. German Southwest Africa was entrusted to the Union of South Africa; New Guinea, to Australia; Samoa, to New Zealand. France received Syria and the major part of Togoland and the Cameroons. Belgium received a strip of German East Africa bordering on the Belgian Congo. Japan received several Pacific Islands north of the Equator, including the Island of Yap.


Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!