In Unison

Three years ago Musical America offered a $3,000 prize for the best symphonic work submitted by a U. S. composer. Last spring Judges Walter Damrosch, Serge Koussevitzky, Leopold Stokowski, Alfred Hertz and Frederick Stock voted the prize to Ernest Bloch for a symphony named America. In late December, almost simultaneously, the five conductor-judges will give America its first performances—Dec. 20 in Manhattan and San Francisco, Dec. 21 in Boston, Philadelphia, Chicago. Other major orchestras may lift their voices in unison.

Koussevitzky's Double-bass

A young Russian,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!