Religion: Archdiocese

His Holiness has created a 16th U. S. archdiocese from the diocese of San Antonio* This new province includes the diocese of Galveston, Corpus Christi, Dallas, Oklahoma, and a new one of Amarillo.

Negro Nuns, Negro Priests

At Cincinnati, Archbishop John T. McNicholas observed the conversion to Roman Catholicism of 70 Negroes, including two onetime Protestant ministers; urged them to train their children for priesthood, sisterhood; said: "I earnestly ask all our colored citizens to consider the position of the Catholic church, to study her teachings, to realize that her ceremonials, her processions, her music...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!