Foreign News: Seats

The Assembly of the League of Nations proceeded methodically last week to elect nine states to nonpermanent League Council seats in accordance with the program approved by the Assembly a fortnight ago (TIME, Sept. 13).

Poland, Chile and Rumania were elected for three years, the Polish seat being made renewable. Colombia, Holland and China were elected for two years; and Czechoslovakia, Belgium and Salvador were elected for one year. Thus the League Council will consist next year of these nine states and the permanently seated powers: Great Britain, France, Germany, Italy and Japan....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!