The Democratic National Committee, which came out of the election of 1924 with a deficit of about $300,000, last week filed with Congress (as required by law) a statement of its recent collections, showing that it had taken in $100,000, and giving its deficit as $262,000 on June 1. Some of those who paid the $100,000:

Thomas Fortune Ryan (N. Y.).... $25,000

Ralph Pulitzer (N. Y.).... 10,000

Norman H. Davis (N. Y.).... 6,500

John W. Davis (N. Y.).... 5,000

Cyrus H. McCormick (Ill.).... 5,000

Thomas L. Chadbourne (N. Y.).... 5,000

William Church Osborne...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!