Arts: Memorial

Last week a distinguished committee awarded a distinguished architect a new distinction—all of which was most to the taste of a nation in whose vocabulary this word is a favorite son. John Russell Pope was the architect. Secretary of State Kellogg, Will Hays, James R. Garfield, Lawrence Abbott, Elon H. Hooker, Arthur W. Page, Mark Sullivan, Charles D. Walcott, Irwin Kirkwood, Frederick C. Hicks, Hermann Hagedorn, were present at the meeting of the committee. The distinction was the choosing of Architect Pope's design for the proposed Roosevelt Memorial. The Association has...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!