Yugo-Slavia, a fraction smaller than the state of Oregon, comprises eight areas, the main parts of which are known as Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Bosnia, Herzegovina.

The problem which faces the country is almost parallel to the old Austro-Hungarian nationality question. The Serbs, led by white-haired Nikolai Pashitch, want a Greater Serbia¬óthat is, a strong central government for the whole nation. The others are split. The Croatians want autonomy (self-government), some under the monarchy, some outside it as an independent republic. The Montenegrins demand a plebiscite which shall permit them to settle...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!