Nobel Prize

Again the Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded by the Swedish Academy. Again no American had arisen to such distinction. The recipient was Ladislas St. Reymont, Pole, aged 56, author of 23 volumes of short stories and novels, in particular author of The Peasants (4 vols., 1902-06), for which the prize this year was given. In form a novel, the work actually constitutes a review of Poland's history since her partition at the close of the 18th Century.

Author Reymont, one of the dozen children of poor...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!