Foreign News: Irish Crisis

For the umpteenth and last time Northern Ireland refused to nominate a delegate to represent her on the Irish Boundary Commission (TIME, May 5, et seq.). Furthermore, it was stated that whatever the decision of the Boundary Commission is, the North will demand an appeal.

Under this extreme recalcitrancy lies trouble of a kind that is manufactured only in Ireland. Northern Ireland claims that the six counties Armagh, Antrim, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, Tyrone) which form her territory, were delimited in the Government of Ireland Act of 1920; that the boundary between the Free State...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!