TARIFF: Tariff and the Sweets

There are six members of the U. S. Tariff Commission, who serve for 12 years each, one retiring at the end of every two years. It happens that, on Sept. 30, the term of David J. Lewis, of Maryland, expires. President Coolidge announced last week that he would give Mr. Lewis an interim appointment; and it was intimated that the latter would be nominated for the full term when Congress reassembles. By Mr. Lewis' reappointment hangs a tale.

The Tariff Commission has been badly divided against itself. It was divided three to three...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!