National Affairs: A Baker's Dozen

Whom of the following would you pick to be the next President of the U.S.:

Senator William E. Borah.

Senator Smith W. Brookhart.

Senator Lynn J. Frazier.

Senator Edwin J. Ladd.

Senator Robert M. La Follette.

Senator George W. Norris.

Senator Hendrik Shipstead.

Senator Burton K. Wheeler.

J. A. H. Hopkins, Chairman of the Committee of 48.

William Mahoney, Minnesota Farmer-Laborite.

Ex-Congressman Victor Murdock, Chairman of the Federal Trade Commission.

F. A. Pike, Minnesota Farmer-Laborite.

Amos Richard Eno Pinchot.*; If you want one of these men for President, you can take a hand in nominating him. The Committee of...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!