With the Republican members conspicuous by their absence (they refused to take an oath of allegiance to George V and therefore cannot sit), the new Dail Eireann (Irish Chamber of Deputies) met for the first time.

The only business transacted was the re-election by acclamation of William T. Cosgrave as President of the Executive Council of the Irish Free State (Prime Minister of the Free State). Michael Hayes was chosen Speaker.

The Opposition sitting in the Dail (Farmers,' Labor and Independent Parties) asked the Government to release Republican prisoners in order to...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!