Say What?


English is the most widely used of South Africa's 11 official languages, but visitors are likely to encounter several regional tongues — Afrikaans in the Western Cape, Xhosa in the Eastern Cape, Zulu in KwaZulu-Natal, Sotho in the Free State — when traveling through the country. There's also a hybrid dialect called Fanagalo (do like this) that dates back to the days when black Africans were recruited for work in the white-owned [an error occurred while processing this directive] gold mines. A traveler's guide to South Africa's many tongues:...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!