The Matrix Rebounded

WINNER TAKE ALL: Smith (Weaving) and Neo (Reeves) duke it out in a kung fu battle to end all battles

For a couple of hours this Wednesday, the world will be one. The Matrix Revolutions, the climax of Andy and Larry Wachowski's science-fiction trilogy launched in 1999, will premiere in major cities around the globe at precisely the same moment. The clocks will read 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, 9 a.m. in New York, 2 p.m. in London, 3 p.m. in Paris and 11 p.m. in Tokyo, but moviegoers everywhere can feel a kinship with their fellow Matricians — as if they were linked, in sacred harmony, to a giant computer brain being fed the same data. But paying for it....

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!