To Peter Higgs and François Englert, the Nobel Prize in Physics for their role in postulating the existence of the Higgs boson--the "God particle"--which was confirmed at CERN's Large Hadron Collider in 2012.


Ovadia Yosef, 93, prominent rabbi and spiritual leader of Israel's ultra-Orthodox Shas Party, known for his fiery rhetoric and strong appeal to his nation's Sephardic Jews.


Nicholas Oresko, 96, oldest surviving recipient of the U.S.'s Medal of Honor, awarded to him for single-handedly taking out two German machine-gun positions during the Battle of the Bulge in World War II.


The largest diamond ever to...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!