There's No Sure Hit Here

Need a lesson in parenting? California assemblywoman Sally Lieber is offering one in the form of a bill that would ban the spanking of children less than 4 years old. If the bill passes, California will become the first state to make spanking a misdemeanor--punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail--although more than a dozen countries, mostly in Europe, have laws against hitting children, including spanking. "Young children can't run or speak for themselves," says Lieber. "They are sitting ducks for abuse."

She's not the first American to argue that legislation is the answer. Brookline, Mass.,...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now

Subscribe
Subscribe

Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on TIME.com

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!