Calm Before the Storm?

Note to the Nobel Peace Prize committee: Can you pick someone besides me this year? The honor (and the million-dollar prize) would be nice, but anyone you tap needs to watch his back. Mikhail Gorbachev won in 1990 and was tossed into oblivion in 1991. Henry Kissinger and Le Duc Tho were honored in 1973 for negotiating to end the Vietnam War — which didn't end until 1975, on terms hardly flattering to Kissinger. Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres and Yasser Arafat were the winners in 1994; Rabin was assassinated, Arafat is embattled, and peace in the Middle East is becoming even...

Want the full story?

Subscribe Now


Get TIME the way you want it

  • One Week Digital Pass — $4.99
  • Monthly Pay-As-You-Go DIGITAL ACCESS$2.99
  • One Year ALL ACCESSJust $30!   Best Deal!
    Print Magazine + Digital Edition + Subscriber-only Content on

Learn more about the benefits of being a TIME subscriber

If you are already a subscriber sign up — registration is free!