Remembering Michael Jackson on Twitter

  • Share
  • Read Later
Eric Thayer / Reuters

People watch reports of the death of pop icon Michael Jackson on large screens in Times Square in New York City, June 25, 2009

As the news of Michael Jackson's death spread around the world on June 25, the social-networking site Twitter came to a virtual standstill, flooded with visitors tweeting the news. Within moments of the first breaking news reports — indicating that Jackson had suffered cardiac arrest and had been rushed via ambulance to a Los Angeles hospital — both #michaeljackson and cardiac arrest emerged as two of the network's highest-rated "trending topics." As TIME's Michael Scherer notes, nearly three times as many tweets were posted about Michael Jackson on Thursday than about either Iran or swine flu.

In the hour following confirmation of his death, celebrities rushed to make their grief and condolences public:

Miley Cyrus (mileycyrus):
michael jackson was my inspiration. love and blessings

MC Hammer (MCHammer):
I have no words.. I loved Michael Jackson.. RIP... I will be mourning my friend , brother, mentor and inspiration.. He gave me and my family hope. I would never have been me without him.

Lance Armstrong (lancearmstrong):
Terrible news about Michael Jackson and Farah Fawcett. My best to their friends, fans, and families.

Danica Patrick (DanicaPatrick):
I can not believe Michael Jackson and Farrah passed away. Rest in peace.

Wyclef Jean (wyclefjean):
Michael Jackson was my music god, he made me believe that all things are possible and through positive music he will live forever...

Alyssa Milano (Alyssa_Milano):
Remember the first time you saw him moonwalk? RIP Michael Jackson

Lindsay Lohan:
NO OMG ... sending my love and prayers out to Michael and his family ... i feel sick..

Josh Groban (joshgroban):
Definitely a "Where were you when..." day. Lost a great artist who had great demons.

Britney Spears (britneyspears):
He was a wonderful man and will be greatly missed.

John Mayer (johncmayer):
Dazed in the studio. A major strand of our cultural DNA has left us. RIP MJ.

Perez Hilton (PerezHilton):
Grieving is not entertainment. That does not need to be public. That adds nothing to the story. I won't be running any pics. Please follow.

Ashton Kutcher (aplusk):
I plea to the public to refuse to consume media that does not respect the anonymity of Michaels children

Larry King (kingsthings):
I interviewed Michael Jackson when he 12 and with the Jackson 5

Mandy Moore (TheMandyMoore):
RIP michael jackson and farrah fawcett. what a tremendous loss in one day.... thoughts and prayers with their families and loved ones....

Kirstie Alley (kirstiealley):
Don't know what to I will say I am so sorry for his family either way... What a horrible way to find these things out...sorry

John Legend (johnlegend):
Terrible news about Michael Jackson

Katy Perry (katyperry):
Oh my God.

Kim Kardashian (KimKardashian):
Wow I am truly in shock that Michael Jackson has passed away! I love u Jackson family, my prayers are with the whole family!

Marlon Wayans (babyway):
My prayers, my love, my heart goes out to michael jackson and the entire jackson family. I pray so hard for them. I'm crushed! Please pray.

Ashley Tisdale (ashleytisdale):
I have to say, the 6 of us from HSM were very lucky to have met such an amazing man. I will remember that moment forever. RIP Michael

Stephanie Pratt (stephaniepratt):
"Wow Sad day Remembering how much you loved the thriller video when u were 2 yrs.old — Must have watched u dance 2 it a million times" - My mama just texted me that :(

Meghan McCain (McCainBlogette):
prayers go out to the King of Pop's family, a sombre day...

Jane Fonda (Janefonda):
I am stunned. My friend, Michael Jackson is dead. He lived with me for a week on "Golden Pond" set after "Thriller."

Ellen DeGeneres (TheEllenShow):
So sad to hear about Michael Jackson. His music changed our lives. The world has lost an amazing singer and dancer. I will miss him.

Sean (Diddy) Combs (iamdiddy):
Michael Jackson showed me that you can actually see the beat. He made the music come to life!! He made me believe in magic. I will miss him!

Rob Thomas (ThisIsRobThomas):
Official. Michael jackson dies at 50. Speechless.

California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger (Schwarzenegger):
We lost a great entertainer and a pop icon. My thoughts and prayers go out to Michael Jackson's family, friends and fans.

Kelly Clarkson (Kelly_clarkson):
Such a sad day in Hollywood. You'll always be in my heart.

Hanson (hansonmusic):
It is difficult to think of a more impact full loss from the passing of an icon, than that of Michael Jackson.